2011: THE YEAR THAT WAS

During the holidays, I had the chance to backtrack my blog and realized that I did not post a year-end review for 2010.. I used to do it annually in my old blog but I think I got too lazy in Dec. 2010 that I skipped writing a year-ender post. So now, please allow me to share the highlights of the year that was even though this post is rather late. You don’t mind, do you?

Here we go!

Happy blogging life!

2011 saw the first anniversary of my new blog! Hooray! Time indeed flies fast, right? Additionally, I’ve been to two blog events: the Cebu Blog Camp 2011 (May) and the Visayas Blogging Summit (November) and I’d say I learned a lot of new things about blogging. Now I feel like I am gaining confidence as a blogger and as a person in general. I am just happy that I am slowly coming out of my shell by going out to functions and social events and meeting online friends in person.

“Starry, starry” year! 

2011 was pretty exciting because I got to meet and greet several Filipino celebrities. (Talk about shallow dreams of a probinsyana!). Early in July, I went to ABS-CBN studios and watched Showtime, a variety/talent show. There I saw Anne Curtis, Vhong Navarro, Vice Ganda, Kuya Kim, Ryan Bang, and the rest of the hosts. I especially wanted to talk to Ryan Bang to test my Korean speaking skills but I didn’t get the chance to do so. I was able to visit the waiting rooms, walked through the infamous ABS-CBN lobby of the stars (where I saw Luis Manzano), peeked through the live shooting of another show, ate at their canteen, and went to the Big Brother’s house! In November, I went back to ABS-CBN and saw John Lloyd Cruz in the lobby! Hahaha~ but more important than that was the opportunity to witness a studio interview that was being aired on cable TV at the same time. It was cool!

Late in July, I was in Bohol for the annual Sandugo Festival. But it was more special because I actually went out to watch the Kapuso Night with my sisters and two other friends! It was my first time! The show had several Kapuso stars from Manila: Katrina Halili, Daniel Matsunaga, Paolo Contis, Gretchen Espina, Moymoy Palaboy, Julian Trono (who totally made my sisters into crazy fangirls! :p), and some more. As if the special seats weren’t enough, we followed them to the restaurant where they were having dinner . Lucky enough, we got the opportunity to give our hi’s and hello’s, but really it was mostly pikchur-pikchur!! Hahaha~ Big thanks to Ms. Anna Igpit for the special pass! *wink

The highlight, however, of this starry starry year would have to be meeting beauty titlists! They are Ms. Anna Igpit, Ms. Sian Maynard, Ms. Karla Henry, and Ms. Shamcey Supsup!  I met all four of them last October! And I’d say they are pretty and friendly in person!

  

Going back, this “starry, starry” year brought me many realizations: I had a glimpse of what a celebrity’s life is like, I now know how it feels to watch a live show; I now know what it is like to be a fan and follow celebrities around. I just couldn’t believe that I met people who I only see on TV or on magazines! Two thumbs up for that!

I flew 3 times this year!

If you were able to follow my old blog, you’d be aware of how fascinated I am with airplanes and travelling in general. It is my childhood dream to ride an airplane and it was only in 2008 when I first flew. 2011 is a special year because I flew 3 times!

June 2011 – I was sent on an official work trip to Manila along with two officemates. The trip brought me to SM Megamall, SM San Lazaro, SM Valenzuela and SM Dasmarinas and we stayed in Antipolo, Rizal for the night. In a sudden twist of fate, we went to Salon de Ning at The Peninsula Hotel Manila and I was only wearing shorts + cardigan (pictured above)! Talk about not dressing accordingly! :p

July 2011 – This trip was a special one since it was a graduation gift from my mother. I went to Manila with my cousin primarily to visit our relatives who we have not seen for the longest time. We made a side trip to UP Diliman in Quezon City. (Oh how I’ve been longing to visit this school!) We watched Showtime LIVE. We traveled to SM City Lipa and Fernando Airbase in Batangas (the land trip was fun, by the way!) and we went to some more places within the metro. This trip rather solidified my fears of living/getting a job in Manila. It’s just totally different from my life in Cebu!

November 2011 – I flew to Manila alone FOR THE FIRST TIME! It was a little nerve-racking figuring out how to go about with the airport’s system and commuting all the way to your specific destination in a place you’re unfamiliar with. But I managed through it anyway, so yeah.. As long as you know how to read, write and speak, travelling should not be a problem. Just make sure your cell phone is fully charged, and you have enough money! One regret: I was not able to document my first solo trip!!! I brought a lot of things with me (since this was an official work trip) and there weren’t extra hands to hold the camera! Boooooo!

Gotta love little surprises!

My Dec 2011 was an exciting one because small surprises came my way. First, I received a gift card from my UP FA ID family. Second, I won a gift certifcate for Sumo Sam Cebu through an online contest at ZeroThreeTwo. Third, I won the Picture Picture segment of Mag TV Na!, a local TV show.  I wouldn’t know about it if my friends in Bohol didn’t message me in Facebook saying “I saw you on TV”, or “your photo won!”.. and I was like “wow, I must be pretty blessed this month!”.

I gave an inspirational talk 

This one is overwhelming. In November, I was given an opportunity to give a small talk to a group of students who are taking the same course I took in college. I shared them my journey as a student, gave them survival tips, injected a bit of humor (and warnings. Hehe), talked about my post-college life, and what-have-yous. But while doing it was fun, I realized that I am growing old already. Read more about this experience here.

I am a working girl now! 

I think this is the highlight of my 2011. I am now finished with school and got a job to boot as well as several changes that came with it. I moved to a new room, have different set of wardrobe, manage my own finances, and so on and so forth. The transition from school/student life to office girl life was generally smooth. I am just thrilled that I am finally starting a life on my own. It’s a little scary but I got the hang of it. I am Miss Independent now. =) You can read more of my working girl life here.

2011 Realizations

The year, as a whole, has been great for me. More positive things came my way although of course there were still the negative ones. 2011 marked my first year of transition to adulthood (finishing school and getting a job). I learned a lot of new things that weren’t taught in school as well as experienced a variety of adventures. This leaves me super excited for 2012. I wonder what’s in store for me.

How about you? How was your 2011?

 

Leave a Reply

