SINULOG 2011 FLUVIAL PARADE

The Sinulog is a very big religious event held annually in Cebu City on the third Sunday of January.  It is a pista, but of grander scale.

One of the highlights of the Sinulog celebration is the fluvial parade. It’s a procession, except that it’s done off the waters Mactan Channel. The followers would either be in bancas or their own yachts, or in somebody’s case, a jetski.

For the 3rd time around, I went to the old Lapu2x – Mandaue Bridge to witness the fluvial parade. I’d like to share some photos I took that morning.

This sight greeted me when we arrived at the bridge. I was with my uncle and my cousin, who was also taking pictures. More people came compared to last year. It was a bit scary, but I opted to stay until the procession is finished.

Definitely, more bancas joined the fluvial procession this year. There were those in uniformed shirts, those who rented familiar bancas, and those who obviously came from far-away islands. The beating of drums from several bancas made the procession the procession even livelier!

However, this little yellow banca got my attention. This guy’s banca is smaller than the rest yet it stood out, with its tiny flaglets. He was alone, while the other banca had several passengers. The Sinulog is not just for the rich and famous religious people but it is for everybody who loves and believes in the Sto. Niño.. The sight was so touching that I wanted to cry.

This is the “star of the show”, the main galleon that carried the Sto. Niño. I wasn’t able to get a glimpse of this one because unfortunately, I was on the other side of the bridge, and they didn’t even reach there! 😦

Even tots were present during the fluvial procession. After all, the one being celebrated for this event is the Child Jesus.

The sight of family members going together to watch the fluvial procession is already familiar to me. They don’t come only to see the image of the Holy Child Jesus, or to check the nicely-decorated bancas. Their reason for coming to the bridge, and braving the crowds is to pray. They profess their devotion. It’s a different feeling when you’re right on the spot with people who have strong devotions. You get goosebumps, really. The emotion is so high, tears would drop without you realizing it.

I’ll still watch next year’s fluvial procession. And who knows, maybe I’ll hit the streets in downtown Cebu next time to join the foot procession, and maybe, just maybe, watch the mardi gras. Because I haven’t been to ever since.

P.S. Shout out goes to my cousin for letting me use some of the photos he took! 😉 Thanks, kuya Vaughn!

* * *

PROBINSYA is a collection of posts on anything and everything about life in the province, that I may, or may have not personally experienced. Eitherway, these stories are something I definitely would like to share to the rest of the world. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

